Months 9 & 10

I feel like the last update i had babies still and now I have kids. The transition that they have been going through is astounding and amazing to watch. Literally you can watch them figuring out the world and how things work.

The day they turned 9 months old things got hard really fast. All of the sudden my babies were growing and teething and learning new skills all at the same time. I felt like a boat being hit by waves coming from all sides. It truly was the hardest few weeks of parenting to date. In the end I/we just had to get through the sleepless nights and constant crying angry babies. Crosby started his two teeth with 100 degree fever for about 3 days then the two cutest little teeth popped through on the bottom. Henely started teething about a week later, she got a rash around her mouth that spread to her face and was accompanied by a fever of up to 103. It was so sad to see her sick for the first time. All she wanted to do was be held and cuddle, plus it was so hot outside she just was burning up even when she was just in her diaper. We are now going through waves of teething, Crosby is up to five teeth and Henley still has two but is working on more judging by her fever and snotty nose that has shown up this week

Crosby started crawling right after July 4th, he powers around like a little bulldog and is adorable. He started pulling himself up right after he started crawling. Now he can pull up and walk around thins, including the walker that he pushes. I know this boy will be walking before his first birthday. Henley started crawling about a week later and she has the funniest crawl. When she crawls her left leg she crawls on her toes like she is walking while on the right leg she crawls using her entire shin. I like to say she has a hitch in her giddy-up, it is just the way she crawls and she still manages to power around and tries to keep up with her brother.

Our living space has turned into a toy tornado and they are exploring everything about their world. They love to crawl about and get the remotes or magazines. I get frustrated because everyday I pick up toys constantly and I clean the floors trying to keep the dog hair at bay. It is challenging to keep up the house while entertaining the kids and making sure chores get done. I will post about this separately but being a stay at home mom is NO JOKE. I work harder now than I ever have in a job, and this job does not end and the end of the day.

Henley-

You have started to babble and it is official that your first word is “dada”, you say it all day long looking for him and it is the sweetest thing. You are the quiet observer learning and picking up so much from our interactions and from the world. You have learned how to shake your head “no”, I had no idea where you got this from until the other day I was saying “NO” to Crosby and I noticed that I was shaking my head. I was amazed that you picked it up from me without even me knowing. Your smile is now a little toothy and you open wide and make the cutest “ahh” sound. Your laugh is infectious and your noises and babbles I could listen to all day. I know you are changing so fast and that soon you will be my little girl, the time goes fast love and I love spending my day with you. You still sleep with dad and I for a little during most nights, it is either because we don’t want you to wake your brother or you are teething and not feeling well. I love snuggling you and it reminds me of when you were an infant swaddled in-between our heads on the boppy. I love you girl every day more and more even when you go crazy, you are my little girl and I love you to the moon.

Crosby-

You are my bruiser boy. You jump into the world head first (literally) and you are such an adventurer. Once you started crawling you pulled yourself up fast and then came the falling. It seems that you always have a few bruises on your head now just because you are learning about the world around you in the most physical way. I cannot lie to you, it can be really tiring to always chase after you and keep you out of the wrong things. You understand the word “no” and we are working with that everyday, I will try not to stifle your adventurous spirit but there are times that you cannot do what you want to do. When I need you to come to me I can wave you over and you get so excited and start crawling as fast as you can. You are so cute and are changing into a little boy in front of my eyes. You love to eat and are always ready for food. Sleep is still interrupted and it will be interesting to see how things go when I wean. I love you to pieces little boy and I hope to nurture you in all the ways you need.

IMG_0640

Poor sick Henley

IMG_0655

Born wild Crosby

IMG_0739

Crawlers

IMG_0882

Pulling up and walking with the walker

IMG_0887

Mirrors are amazing

Leave a Reply

